NHL’s Finest on Display in Las Vegas

By on June 27, 2014

The NHL awards were handed out this past Tuesday night in Las Vegas, with new Hockey Night in Canada host George Strombolopolous, as the host for the night. The NHL’s top stars were in the building as well as some other big named like Cuba Gooding Jr. – who looked like an excited kid of Christmas.

For a change Sidney Crosby took some hardware home (oh yes that was sarcasm). Crosby was the recipient of the Hart trophy as the MVP for the second time since the 06-07 season. He also took home the Ted Lindsay award for most valuable player as voted by the players. In addition to those two awards he won the Art Ross award for leading the NHL in points with 104.

The goal scoring race for the Rocket Richard Award may be the most popular race during the NHL regular season. This year with a total of 51 goals, Alex Ovechkin was the winner. This was his fourth Rocket Richard Award, and he becomes the only player to win the award four times.

The Boston bruins waked away with four awards. The Vezina trophy for the best goalie in the league went to Tuukka Rask this year. Patrice Bergeron got the other three awards for the Bruins. Bergeron took home the Selke award for the best defensive forward in the league. He was second in the NHL with a plus/minus of +38. He received the NHL Foundation Player Award for his core hockey values, perseverance, commitment and teamwork. He was recognized for his charity Patrice’s Pal’s, an organization for hospitalized children in the Boston area. In addition to his trophies he was awarded the cover of NHL 15 for the EA Sports video game.

The Norris trophy for the best defenseman of the year went to Blackhawk defender Duncan Keith; this is Keith’s second Norris trophy. With a team filled with superstars Keith was able to stand out. He beat out Bruins’ captain Zdeno Chara and Predators captain Shea Weber who could have easily won the award.

The Colorado Avalanche went 3 for 4 in awards on Tuesday night. Semyon Varlamov was the only one to miss out when Tuukka Rask took home the Vezina. Nathan Mackinnon took home the Calder trophy for rookie of the year, in a season where he led all rookies in every offensive category. Patrick Roy in his first season as a coach took home the Jack Adams award for coach of the year. Ryan O’Reilly won the Lady Byng, as the player that was most sportsmanlike and exhibited gentlemanly conduct. He was taken to the box for just one minor penalty the entire season.

Ranger Forward, Dominic Moore, was the recipient of the Bill Masterson award. This award goes to the player who showed perseverance and dedication to hockey. After he walking away from hockey to take care of his wife who was diagnosed with cancer; he came back and rejuvenated his career as a member of the New York Rangers.

Former Ranger Captain Mark Messier presented his own Leadership award to Kings’ captain Dustin Brown. Brown was recognized for his commitment to his community and help serving with charities.

The King Clancy Award for the player who exemplifies leadership on and off the ice went to Oilers captain Andrew Ference. He was chosen for his contributions to the Edmonton community.

Kings Goalie Johnathan Quick and the LA Kings won the William Jennings Trophy as the goalie who played on the team with the fewest goals scored against them in the regular season.

Anaheim Ducks GM, Bob Murray won General Manager of the Year. He pieced a team together for the Ducks best season in history, leading to the Pacific Division title.

This was an exciting season of hockey and these players, coaches and management took full advantage. The players who came in second and third will be challenging to win the awards next season, but it won’t come to anyone’s surprise if there are repeat winners.



About Patrick O'Neill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

Please type the characters of this captcha image in the input box

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

The forecast for Toronto, Canada by WP Wunderground